PDA

View Full Version : Wake on Lan - Wake on Wan on a linksys

dragonash
04-12-2010, 08:24 PM
I will try to summarize this quickly.

Due to the computer being turned off, the ARP info in the router is flushed, therefore the MAC address / IP Address pairing is gone. (i think i explained that right)

So anyway, in order to get WOW working properly, I would have to port forward to my broadcast IP (192.168.1.255).

Unfortunately linksys doesnt let you use 255 and the only work around I have seen is to use DDWRT. Too bad my router doesnt support it.

So the question is, is there a workaround for this limitation? Is there a way to inject code that will trick the router into letting me use 255? The router page is written in ASP...which i guess is javascript?

This is for the most techy of guys here :)

]LoL[Harm
04-13-2010, 12:56 AM
ASP is most commonly written in VB, but can also be C#.

Outside of that, I can be little help as I have little experience with WoL or WoW.

Saboteur
04-13-2010, 10:38 AM
This confuses me greatly.

Why would you port forward your broadcast IP? Is such a thing even possible? Its not an address that can be assigned to a system. Do you only have one system on your LAN that needs WOW access? (Never played it - don't know what the technical requirements are.)

Is it an issue of the computer's IP address being DHCP and possibly changing? If that is the case you can either assign your computer a static IP or you should be able to set up an IP reservation for your computer's MAC address in the router's DHCP service so that your computer is the only one that will be assigned that IP. In either case, you can set up the port forwarding on that known IP address.

dragonash
04-13-2010, 11:10 AM
This confuses me greatly.