PDA

View Full Version : borderlands and new computer



Ash
09-15-2010, 07:01 PM
Boy i cant get borderlands stable with my new rig.

Windows 7 ult 64
a pair of gtx 460 1000mb g cards
i7 930
6gb ddr3 ram
a crucial c300 ssd hd
Asus Rampage III Extreme motherboard
AX1200 Corsiar watt power supply

I think its just nvidia and the game dont like each other.
The shadows go crazy!

I did get the latest Nvidia drivers.

Dr. Death
09-16-2010, 01:37 AM
Did you try turning stuff off in the game to see if there was anything specific that it doesn't like?

=A!M=OakWind
09-16-2010, 03:39 AM
I think it's your 640 cards.... they don't exist yet.

Try disabling ambient occlusion.

Ash
09-16-2010, 07:46 AM
I think it's your 640 cards.... they don't exist yet.

Try disabling ambient occlusion.

try......kiss my butt!! :p

Ash
09-16-2010, 07:47 AM
Did you try turning stuff off in the game to see if there was anything specific that it doesn't like?

ive turned everything on and off.

Ninjahedge
09-16-2010, 08:20 AM
I had the same thing with my card (4870 I think?)

The shadows would kind of band across the screen rather than be below the characters. The only thing that would work is restarting. Sometimes I would just turn off the shadows (which made it a bit more cartoony....)

Things like smoke from background smokestacks would do the same thing.

I will have to see what day I have free to join you for a few hours Ash. My journey on Tuesday may have used up my "Play creds" ;)

dragonash
09-16-2010, 01:07 PM
pro tip:

borderlands sucks ass for the PC.

They never tried to properly port it ;p
I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't work correctly with gfx cards made after it.

Ninjahedge
09-16-2010, 01:14 PM
I liked it.... :(

garm
09-16-2010, 01:26 PM
What's borderlands... :D

Ninjahedge
09-16-2010, 01:31 PM
A place located somewhere beyond Thunderdome, before Fallout, and within shouting distance of Mario's World.....

Bald_Yew
09-16-2010, 07:03 PM
I feel for ya man. I just installed Win7pro 64bit and had a hell of a time getting Fallout3 to work correctly. I'll give Borderlands a shot and see what happens. Finally got FO3 working correctly by turning off Bloom.

Ash
09-17-2010, 06:23 PM
I think it's your 640 cards.... they don't exist yet.

Try disabling ambient occlusion.

sorry didnt know that was a real setting.

Thought you were making a joke.

Well I installed the latest beta drivers and its running for now. I got a few days out of the last set before it went crazy.

=A!M=OakWind
09-17-2010, 07:30 PM
No problem. Ambient occlusion is a new shadow tech. I didn't have any problems with the game, but my card doesn't support AO anyways.

Some people were having a problem with it months ago and it was just a guess.

Ash
09-20-2010, 09:52 PM
So with the new drivers I forgot to enable SLI.
When I turned SLI on same problem but now with all games.
Reseated the graphics cards and so far so good.

Ninjahedge
09-21-2010, 07:43 AM
SLI Ash?

I guess you won't be needing that space heater in your room this winter! ;)

garm
09-22-2010, 05:12 PM
SLI Ash?

I guess you won't be needing that space heater in your room this winter! ;)


You said it, my office is like furnace.

Ash
09-22-2010, 06:13 PM
yeah and the 460's are suppose to be the best at keeping the heat down. it still gets warm in here.

Ninjahedge
09-23-2010, 08:20 AM
Is that what she said?

Muscat
09-24-2010, 06:14 AM
It is not Bordelands, it is the dam Windows 7 crap and all the famous driver failures.
Never found a good working video driver for Windows 7 so I'm not going to play any game on it until they fix the crap.
Bordelands works perfectly on my XP sp3. Never had any problem.

Ninjahedge
09-24-2010, 08:21 AM
Musc, that is not entirely true.

I had problems since day one with my 4870 on SP3.

It was mostly on things like smoke, shadows and overlays. Weird banding, shadow on everything sometimes, smoke only half on. It would also change dependong on how I was looking at it (what angle) so moving around in it was very distracting.

While it did not ruin the fun of the game to turn it off, it DID make it feel even more cartoony with no shadows.....

Muscat
09-24-2010, 01:31 PM
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/275076-33-display-problems-borderlands-game :confused:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=121255 :D

ATI/AMD video card pffff :p

Ninjahedge
09-24-2010, 01:40 PM
C'mahn muskie! This was a little over a year ago when Nvid was giving everyone the $$ finger.

Ash, I may be on tonight. Let me know if you want to General it.