PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first house...

garm
07-27-2009, 10:39 PM
Yeah - finally. Anyhow, it's downtown Montreal and first thing that I am doing before I move in is ensure that the security is 100% solid as I can get it.

Got a couple of Alarm companies coming by to quote me on install and monitoring of the usual stuff. Window sensors, breaking glass sensors, motion detection, doors, fire and carbon monoxide.

What I will be setting up myself is the video surveillance. Whole bunch of good packages out there to buy - but was wondering what some of you are using *Wes* :)

PCI card in a computer, or something like a D-Link camera that uploads direct to the web, or a PVR system. I will be putting camera's outside and inside and yes I want infrared because some peeps just put graffiti on my brand new house - bastiges!!

shifty
07-28-2009, 10:25 AM
I am an expert at home security and handle a lot of the public safety duties for several neighborhoods in my area. Want me to post my regular email talking about securing your house, etc?

Wes
07-28-2009, 12:32 PM
There are a few ways to do video surveillance.

Two easy ways:
Low end: Costco cheap package deal that has the recorder, cheap cams and all. Quality is poor
High end: Like the webcam I showed you.

DYI ways:
Using USB cams connecting to PC. Cheap, but quality usually is poor. Not good for night vision.
Using real CCTV camera. Decent ones cost range from $100-$400. After testing many of them, of course, the $400 ones has the best quality and has the best night vision. Their output are video signal. You have to use video capture card and some software to do video capturing and FTP uploading for remote achieve. There are also security surveillance card do just that. The card cost about $100-$200 depends on number of channel/camera.

dragonash
07-28-2009, 01:20 PM
something you should know. It may not seem important, but it really is.