PDA

View Full Version : MKV's with subtitles



Ash
03-16-2009, 11:59 AM
I use pytivo along with Tivo and does great but doesnt do soft subtitles. So I would have to transcode the MKV to mpg and hardcode the subs and that took time.

Not anymore,
Using my PS3 and PS3 media server it will stream with no problems so far.

http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/

dragonash
03-16-2009, 12:10 PM
nice find!

now if i only had a ps3....

btw, how is the streaming quality?

Ash
03-16-2009, 12:15 PM
Well I'm currently streaming a 720p Soul Eater ep using wireless 802.11b and it looks real good. Its only as good as your network, CPU and memory.

dragonash
03-16-2009, 12:32 PM
damn, im jealous.

the wii only does stupid flash conversion

Wes
03-16-2009, 01:43 PM
wow! Just tried it. Easy install and up and running in 2 seconds. It even does .img files! Xcoding is super fast and no waiting or pauses. Good stuff!

c3po
03-16-2009, 02:36 PM
wow! Just tried it. Easy install and up and running in 2 seconds. It even does .img files! Xcoding is super fast and no waiting or pauses. Good stuff!

wes is this better than TVersity?

Wes
03-16-2009, 02:44 PM
I don't think TVersity can do .img file or subtitles, but I haven't check their latest version. Can it?

c3po
03-16-2009, 02:49 PM
not via TVersity but it installs FFdshow or wtf ever its called. you have to enable subs there. not it doesn't do IMG files. so do you like it over TVersity? i've been having issues with TVersity on my new laptop vs my 15 yr old computer that runs and streams fine.

c3po
03-16-2009, 02:55 PM
also does this support all that Tversity does? avi files, mostly all of the codecs such as xvid, divx? does it play vob, jpg, mp3 blah blah blah? i can't find a release notes on the app.

Ash
03-16-2009, 04:31 PM
Hey Wes look into the transcode folder, select your video, you can select what you want ,what audio stream or turn subtitles on/off and you can copy to the PS3's hard drive.

Wes
03-16-2009, 06:33 PM
not via TVersity but it installs FFdshow or wtf ever its called. you have to enable subs there. not it doesn't do IMG files. so do you like it over TVersity? i've been having issues with TVersity on my new laptop vs my 15 yr old computer that runs and streams fine.

Like you said, you have to do this, do that, to get something work. That's already a big turn off. This PS3 Media Server just install and run, and it works on every format that I've tried. No need to bother with TVersity. Oh, another thing, when I used TVersity, transcoding was slow. With this one, I fast forward, skip, jump, no waiting at all. It simply just work.


Hey Wes look into the transcode folder, select your video, you can select what you want ,what audio stream or turn subtitles on/off and you can copy to the PS3's hard drive.

Yea, saw that. Very nice! I have no need to copy to PS3 HD though. For those that I watch it via PS3 are those that I have no intention to keep. Once I finish watching, I'll delete it. For those that I want to keep, I burn them onto DVDs.

Ash
03-16-2009, 06:40 PM
I dont really either but I like options.
Wes are you wired or wireless? My fast forward is a little slow. Could be my server computer also.

Wes
03-16-2009, 07:06 PM
My PS3 is on the same gigabit switch with my computer. The best bandwidth it can get.

c3po
03-17-2009, 10:21 AM
ok so i tried it last night. works great. however there is this one ghost whisperer show that was played last friday i dl'd and the damn thing won't work. On Tversity or on PS3 Media.

Ash
03-17-2009, 12:14 PM
ok so i tried it last night. works great. however there is this one ghost whisperer show that was played last friday i dl'd and the damn thing won't work. On Tversity or on PS3 Media.

Give some details,
MkV, avi mpg2 , divx?

I would like to say that your computer is refusing because its the Ghost wisperer. ;)

c3po
03-17-2009, 12:50 PM
its this exact one:

http://nzbmatrix.com/nzb-details.php?id=415001&hit=1

Wes
03-17-2009, 02:17 PM
Give some details,
MkV, avi mpg2 , divx?

I would like to say that your computer is refusing because its the Ghost wisperer. ;)

LMAO!!! :D

If both can't play, most likely it's the source file. I would get a diff version.

c3po
03-17-2009, 03:15 PM
YEAH, i coudln't find one. but we are able to watch it on the Laptop just fine. so it wasn't a total loss. wife enjoys watching "her" shows in bed anyways.

Wes
03-20-2009, 05:00 PM
Hmm.. Just noticed that it can't read BR Disc ISO image..

Ash
03-20-2009, 05:23 PM
never tried
No way my wireless could handle the bitrate.
Does it show up?
does it give any options in the transcode folder?

Wes
03-20-2009, 05:28 PM
It just say "No track" in the transcode folder.

Hmm... it now cannot even play HD mkv files. Not sure if I tried it before, or my newly installed TVerisity messed it up.

Wes
03-20-2009, 05:40 PM
For sure it's the TVersity messed it up. I can't play anything with it now. Trying uninstall them all and install again.

Ash
03-20-2009, 11:11 PM
Any luck?
I have ps3 media and Play on running at the same time and it seems they dont always like each other.
I have to start play on before ps3 media server or they both wont work right.

Wes
03-21-2009, 04:40 AM
No luck. Uninstalled everything and reinstall. Still didn't work.

I'll try the start sequence tomorrow.

Wes
03-21-2009, 10:40 PM
Oh, this is embarrassing! I went into the PS3 Media Server via the music option instead of video...

It's working fine again..

Ash
03-21-2009, 11:38 PM
hehe
i think i did it too
You can tell when the folder icon look different.

Wes
03-22-2009, 04:27 PM
After using it some more, especially on HD mkv, it does have some big draw back compare to pvTivo. If I fast forward more than the pre-set bufferred transcoded material, it takes a long time to up and gonig again. Rewind is pretty much impossible.

Ash
03-22-2009, 10:15 PM
Yep it wont replace Pytivo for everyday use but atleast I dont have to hardcode the subs anymore.

Wes
03-22-2009, 11:53 PM
heh. Your avatar makes me want to watch that Ash movie again. Have you seen the new one that talk about some actor who looks like him in the movie? How was it?

Ash
03-23-2009, 08:33 AM
It's a good - B rated movie. Corny as hell but you find yourself laughing at how pathitic he is.

c3po
03-23-2009, 02:05 PM
After using it some more, especially on HD mkv, it does have some big draw back compare to pvTivo. If I fast forward more than the pre-set bufferred transcoded material, it takes a long time to up and gonig again. Rewind is pretty much impossible.

have you tried using the PS3 1 minute fast forward feature? its the square button on the controller. basically its like a scene selection on a DVD. it pulls up a submenu of 1 minute intervals of the video you are watching. its quite nice.

Wes
03-23-2009, 02:19 PM
oh? I don't use the PS3 much. Let me try it out. Sounds like a nice feature!

lilith
03-23-2009, 02:32 PM
ok so i tried it last night. works great. however there is this one ghost whisperer show that was played last friday i dl'd and the damn thing won't work. On Tversity or on PS3 Media.
Can't you just watch the ghost whisperer on Hulu? :D
http://www.hulu.com/videos/search?query=ghost+whisperer

c3po
03-23-2009, 03:49 PM
Can't you just watch the ghost whisperer on Hulu? :D
http://www.hulu.com/videos/search?query=ghost+whisperer

no, those people are aliens.

Wes
03-23-2009, 04:45 PM
LMAO! Love those commercials! :D

Ash
03-23-2009, 08:49 PM
Can't you just watch the ghost whisperer on Hulu? :D
http://www.hulu.com/videos/search?query=ghost+whisperer

I do watch Hulu,
thru my PS3 using Playon . I dont watch videos at my computer when I got this big TV in the livingroom with this really comfortable seat calling me to come join them.:D

lilith
03-23-2009, 11:34 PM
http://www.surfthechannel.com/ is even better than Hulu! It searches hulu but also searches other places so you even get free movies etc.

but yeah, I understand not wanting to watch stuff on your computer when you've got a home theater!! :)

Wes
03-24-2009, 03:01 AM
I do watch Hulu,
thru my PS3 using Playon .

Very cool. Didn't know it exist. Gotta try it out.

Ninjahedge
03-24-2009, 08:55 AM
http://www.surfthechannel.com/ is even better than Hulu! It searches hulu but also searches other places so you even get free movies etc.

but yeah, I understand not wanting to watch stuff on your computer when you've got a home theater!! :)

What if your computer is attached to your home theater.....? :D

c3po
03-24-2009, 10:29 AM
What if your computer is attached to your home theater.....? :D

nope, thats so UT99 old.

wireless is the way to go.

c3po
03-24-2009, 10:36 AM
so is playon like TVersity, or PS3 Media Center but for online video sites? such as youtube, hulu?

Wes
03-24-2009, 11:43 AM
Downloaded the latest free one, but it didn't support youtube or hulu yet. You can buy one and test their beta one that support youtube and hulu.

When I tested it, the sound came from the computer thou. Weird.

lilith
03-24-2009, 11:59 AM
Are you saying that you bought the beta one that supports Hulu & youtube Wes? And, when you tested that the sound came from your computer? :confused:

Wes
03-24-2009, 12:57 PM
No, just the free one. But for other things I tried, the sound came from the computer.

Could be just my setup problem. Not sure.

c3po
03-24-2009, 01:48 PM
has anyone tried downloading a HD-WMV file and playing it directly on the ps3? like taking a external HD and connecting it to the PS3 and seeing if it plays?

bueller?

Wes
03-24-2009, 02:07 PM
Not me. Too much work involved. :D

c3po
03-24-2009, 02:09 PM
only reason i ask is because i bought a bluray the other day and was amazed how kick ayse it looked that i wanted to see if these HD formats you can find on NGs were able to play on the ps3. w/out a media server.

Ninjahedge
03-24-2009, 02:09 PM
Um, who said my music was on that computer? ;)

Ninjahedge
03-24-2009, 02:13 PM
(That was a ref to C's earlier statement!!! ;))

Have you tried hooking up an ExHD and seeing if the PS can access it? (Do you hav eone to experiment on?)

Maybe a flash card?

Wes
03-24-2009, 02:41 PM
Why HD-WMV? There are a lot more BR release out.

Ninjahedge
03-24-2009, 03:18 PM
Me or him?

I was saying External HD......

Wes
03-24-2009, 03:30 PM
him. He said he wanted to play WMV with the PS3.

Ninjahedge
03-24-2009, 03:32 PM
I think he was referring to resolution, not format! ;)

Wes
03-24-2009, 03:43 PM
oic.

c3po
03-24-2009, 10:29 PM
ok so i downloaded a 1080 movie and tried streaming on my 10/100 wireless network. i take it this is going to be pointless because of the network? will i have to upgrade the router to the gigabit routers to get better streaming performance?

if so what do you routers do you guys recommend?

so i'm looking at my computer specs and my laptops shows it can use Wireless-N. i'm confused as to what Wireless-N is.

Ash
03-24-2009, 10:39 PM
stick with 720p only wired is going to do 1080i , and thats if you computer will keep up with transcoding it also.

c3po
03-24-2009, 10:51 PM
so do you ps3 owners have your ps3 wired to the network?

Ash
03-24-2009, 10:56 PM
i dont have mine wired so I know I cant go over 720p

c3po
03-24-2009, 10:58 PM
do you have a wireless-g or wireless-n network? or and old 10/100

Ash
03-24-2009, 10:59 PM
only G

c3po
03-24-2009, 11:10 PM
i'm just wondering how or why these people are ripping 1080 blurays. how would you be able to watch that on your TV? PC directly to the TV?

Wes
03-25-2009, 12:54 AM
Media Server boxes are getting better and better and priced very reasonable. Here is a good example: http://www.hdx1080.com/

It can play anything. you can even put in a 1.5TB drive in there. You dont' even need to have a PC server to have a media server now.

c3po
03-25-2009, 02:35 AM
well aside from buying more hardware what options do i have to view HD movies aside from buying them?

specs on my laptop are as follows:

AMD Turion X2 Dual Core Mobile (2.2ghz)
4gig of ram
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics RS780M with up to 1918MB shared memory (Whatever that means)
400gigs of HD space

network is a Wireless-G.

problem i'm having is streaming MKV files (smoothly), HD-WMV and the x264 formats found on NZBMatrix (which are MKV).

I have not tried what Ash mentioned by downloading 720. currently i'm downloading a 720 movie to see how well it streams via PS3 Media Server.

WOULD connecting the laptop TO the TV via hdmi be the best way to do this w/out streaming at all?

Ash
03-25-2009, 08:19 AM
I dont think a laptop would have the cpu power to transcode 1080i at realtime. Change some settings in PS3 Media server.

Go to
Transcode settings, Common transcode settings, in the lower part of the page you will see "video quality settings" change "Mpeg2 video quality settings" to "Good quality for HD WiFi Transcoding"

It still looks really good but doesnt stutter. There are other settings but try that one first.

tensux
03-25-2009, 08:35 AM
i do it with my laptop no problems using dvdi to hdmi connector

Ninjahedge
03-25-2009, 08:47 AM
Depends on how the format is compressed.

If you are playing a 20G blu-ray direct rip, then you might have problems, but I have been able to stream DVD isos through the wireless.

Granted, I had to get better transmission AND reception antennae, and a machine that could handle it (some high contrast scenes would skip at the same place every time!), but so far everything else has worked just fine!

garm
03-25-2009, 09:01 AM
Media Server boxes are getting better and better and priced very reasonable. Here is a good example: http://www.hdx1080.com/

It can play anything. you can even put in a 1.5TB drive in there. You dont' even need to have a PC server to have a media server now.

Can go even simpler than that --> WD WDTV (http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4366418&Sku=W10-9300)

I love this little box - works wonders

tensux
03-25-2009, 09:16 AM
no optical out on that thing, unless u have a receiver with hmdi inputs u are screwed, not sure what the advantage of that would than having the pc u download your movies to right next to the tv, if u are using an external drive u need to move that anyway, the transfer rate of usb is slow, and you wont be able to download while u watch if yoiu are only using one usb drive, plenty of cheap cards with optical out, and hdmi to dvi adapter direct into tv is easy enuf

c3po
03-25-2009, 10:50 AM
Can go even simpler than that --> WD WDTV (http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4366418&Sku=W10-9300)

I love this little box - works wonders

does it play MKV files?

Wes
03-25-2009, 11:58 AM
Can go even simpler than that --> WD WDTV (http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4366418&Sku=W10-9300)

I love this little box - works wonders

Yea, there are lot of products out, but the HDX1080 is a high end product that can really go with a real HiFi system. It is 1080p with DTS-HD MA, DTS-HD HR, Dolby TrueHD and Dolby Digital Plus. It has both both Optical and Coaxial audio. The best part is that it can even read ISO image file that most product won't read. All for just $200!

Wes
03-25-2009, 12:07 PM
Here is a good simple review comparing some of the top products out there: http://www.mpcclub.com/modules/Reviews/reviews/NMT-CLASH.pdf

c3po
03-25-2009, 12:27 PM
what kind of setup do you have for watching hi def movies wes? or do you not download hi def movies?

Wes
03-25-2009, 01:13 PM
I have a typical HiFi setup. Both my HD Tivo and PS3 are connected to an Amp with HDMI. I have been getting HD mkv and PS3AVCHD (BR) image file to my PC. pyTivo running on PC and let my Tivo browse the mkv in the PC and watch them like a regular shows. Super convenient.

I used to burn BR image file onto DL DVDs and watch them on PS3. Now with the PS3 Media server, I can just watch them directly from the PS3 via the media server.

Since I have my desktop almost always on, I don't really need a dedicated media server box.

c3po
03-25-2009, 01:27 PM
i'm wondering if my laptop isn't enough power to do all of this. or if its Vista. also wondering if i should just wipe this new laptop clean and put XP on it.

*edited*

ugh, just found out i can't downgrade. blah. guess its media server box route for me. quite annoying.

Wes
03-25-2009, 02:44 PM
x.284 transcoding takes a LOT of CPU power, especially 1080p. Not sure if a notebook can handle it. For lower res and for DVDs, it may be ok.

c3po
03-25-2009, 02:59 PM
I dont think a laptop would have the cpu power to transcode 1080i at realtime. Change some settings in PS3 Media server.

Go to
Transcode settings, Common transcode settings, in the lower part of the page you will see "video quality settings" change "Mpeg2 video quality settings" to "Good quality for HD WiFi Transcoding"

It still looks really good but doesnt stutter. There are other settings but try that one first.

I'LL try that first. thanks for the tip Ash.

c3po
03-26-2009, 01:19 PM
ok can some clarify this for me. i've read that if i just change the extension of an mkv file to .avi it will still play. does this hold true if i were to put this on a usb drive of any sort and let the PS3 play it directly from the drive? or will the file need some type of MKV player or transcoder to play it? because if its as simple as a file extension name change i'll just put all my movies on a USB drive and play it directly using the PS3 w/out streaming.

Wes
03-26-2009, 01:26 PM
I'm pretty sure it won't. PS3 can only play a couple of formats that it supports. It won't do any transcoding like computers do.

c3po
03-26-2009, 01:35 PM
thats what i figured. tried tweaking the transcoding feature ASH mentioned. I tried I,Robot 720p and it plays that one fine. However, when i play Transporter 3 720p (both movies are MKV) it studders. argh!

Ash
03-26-2009, 09:36 PM
thats what i figured. tried tweaking the transcoding feature ASH mentioned. I tried I,Robot 720p and it plays that one fine. However, when i play Transporter 3 720p (both movies are MKV) it studders. argh!

What about sound? I just do stereo and the bitrate at 256. I just listen thru my tv speakers. I would rather leave my bandwidth to vid quality.

Wes
03-27-2009, 03:10 AM
If wireless bandwidth is an issue, consider using those Powerline Ethernet thingy. I use a few of them around the house. The actual transfer rate is about 50-60mbit. Much more reliable than wireless routers.

c3po
03-27-2009, 10:10 AM
well i tweaked the transcoding and it seems to be working. however like wes mentioned before i can't fast forward or skip to a scene w/out it studdering like crazy.

unfortunately i reinstalled Tversity and my computer started to act all crazy on me. so i'm having to tackle that problem now before i can attempt the audio tweak.

Wes
03-27-2009, 11:31 AM
Uninstall both, reboot, reinstall. It seems to work.

c3po
03-27-2009, 11:49 AM
reinstall both or just ps3 media?

Wes
03-27-2009, 11:58 AM
Just ps3 media, or whatever you are planning to use. I only reinstalled ps3 media.

c3po
03-27-2009, 12:08 PM
K. unfortunately i keep getting chdsk coming up when i reboot. sure hope i didn't mess up the laptop too bad. i'd hate to restore to when i got it.

Wes
03-27-2009, 02:53 PM
that's completely diff problem. Sounds like something wrong with your disk already.

c3po
03-27-2009, 03:15 PM
i just got the laptop. like a week ago.

Ash
04-02-2009, 07:56 PM
Trying a powerline from Netgear right now, not impressed so far.

c3po
04-03-2009, 12:39 PM
well i took Garm's advice and i went out and bought a WDTV. this thing IS freaking awesome! it plays everything i throw at it. ONLY problem is DTS audio. however it turns out not alot fo the media players can decode the DTS format.

Popcorn Hour has a 3rd party utility called Audio Converter.exe. it converts the MKV DTS files to MKV AC3 files. This is only if you don't have a receiver that doesn't decode DTS. if you do you won't have to worry about this and just connect your optical digi cable to the receiver to the WDTV.

anyways, also, when using audioconverter.exe might want to disable your AV software. it doesn't like it at all. I assure you there is nothing wrong with the software.

i've used this program with all of my DTS MKVs and it converts them fairly quickly. the WDTV is a great addition to my home entertainment.

its small and cheap.

Wes
04-03-2009, 12:55 PM
Nice! Yea, all the latest media player boxes support pretty much any format you throw at them.

I was going to get a HDX1080 ($200) to try out since this one (along with The popcorn hour) are the most popular/top rated one right now, and it support all the DTS/Dolby sounds. The best part I like is that it has NAS (network attached storage) functionality.

c3po
04-03-2009, 01:23 PM
yeah that is nice but i have no problem unplugging my small 2.5 500gig drive and swapping over files from the laptop. especially for 100 bucks less.

Wes
04-03-2009, 01:49 PM
Just read that the new Popcorn hour supports playing nzb file as well. You know what that means? Sweet!! No more needing a computer to handle the download/extract/fix/move the files!

c3po
04-03-2009, 02:15 PM
yeah that is nice.

c3po
04-03-2009, 02:20 PM
who knows maybe i'll get one later on. move the WDTV to the kids room :D

Ninjahedge
04-03-2009, 02:29 PM
Heh, I wish I had known about these (or they had come this far) BEFORE I made the media machine. I could have saved $400!!!!

Sad part is this, the machine is fine, and it is nice (even has blue ray/DVD-R) but it is a Shuttle, so its PS would probably not be enough to support my long bulky hot video card.....

Just more money spent on redundancies.... that Popcorn looks sweet though. NICE and compact....


But there does not seem to be an external antenna hookup.......

dragonash
04-03-2009, 04:23 PM
[QUOTE=Ninjahedge;1011...so its PS would probably not be enough to support my long bulky hot video card.....

[/QUOTE]

so wrong....

just so wrong.

Ninjahedge
04-06-2009, 09:02 AM
I wasn't even thinking of that.....


TYVM for bringing that image to mind...... :eek:

(Yes, it is a small box)

dragonash
04-06-2009, 12:29 PM
I wasn't even thinking of that.....


TYVM for bringing that image to mind...... :eek:

(Yes, it is a small box)


heart shaped? :D

Ninjahedge
04-06-2009, 01:40 PM
Only In Utero.